CEDAR email: Call for Community Input to LWS TR&T Focused Science Topics

Anthea J Coster costera at mit.edu
Wed May 9 09:18:01 MDT 2018

From: Mark Linton (mark.linton at nrl.navy.mil)

The 2018 NASA Living with a Star Targeted Research and Technology (LWS TR&T) Program Analysis Group (LPAG https://lwstrt.gsfc.nasa.gov/lpag) executive committee (EC) will soon begin developing the next round of LWS focused science topics for ROSES 2019 and beyond. It is vital for the success of the LWS TR&T program that there be active community engagement in the development of annual TR&T science topics. We are therefore asking the Heliophysics community to provide input by July 2, 2018 for these topics. 

Suggested science topics should be organized around achieving the goals set out in the strategic science areas (SSA’s) articulated in the LWS Ten Year Vision:


Physics-based Understanding to Enable Forecasting of:

• SSA-0, Solar Electromagnetic, Energetic Particle, and Plasma Outputs Driving the Solar System Environment and Inputs to Earth’s Atmosphere

(note, Sun-Climate topics fall under SSA-0)

• SSA-1, Geomagnetic Variability

• SSA-2, Satellite Drag

• SSA-3, Solar Energetic Particle

• SSA-4, Total Electron Content

• SSA-5, Ionospheric Scintillation

• SSA-6, Radiation Environment

Input may be entered through the LWS TR&T website at:  https://lwstrt.gsfc.nasa.gov/input/
To view and comment on input which has been submitted in response to this call, please go to:


To view the topics which were developed from community input by the previous TR&T committee in 2016, see the final report of that committee at:


And the original community input and comments at: https://lwstrt.gsfc.nasa.gov/viewinput/2016/
Any topics in this 2016 report which were not selected by NASA for the ROSES 2017 TR&T call, or which are not selected by NASA for the upcoming ROSES 2018 TR&T call will be reviewed by the LPAG EC. Community input regarding updates to those topics is welcome.

We greatly look forward to your input and to continuing on the path of innovation and scientific exploration in the LWS program.

LPAG Executive Committee Members: Anthea Coster (Co-Chair), Mark Linton (Co-Chair), Joe Borovsky, Richard Collins, Seebany Datta-Barua, Matina Gkioulidou, Fan Guo, Jorg-Micha Jahn, Enrico Landi, John Leibacher, Sabrina Savage, Brian Wals 

LPAG Ex Officio Members: Jeff Morrill, Janet Kozyra, Shing Fung

Anthea J. Coster, PhD
MIT Haystack Observatory
99 Millstone Road
Westford, MA 01886

phone:   	617-715-5753
fax:         	781-981-5766
email:    	ajc at haystack.mit.edu
web:        www.haystack.mit.edu

More information about the Cedar_email mailing list