CEDAR email: AGU honors for Joe Huba, Jim Russell and Ray Roble

Barbara Emery emery at ucar.edu
Tue Jul 30 11:59:02 MDT 2013

This is a generic mailing to the CEDAR community sent 30 July 2013.
Meetings and jobs are listed at http://cedarweb.hao.ucar.edu under
'Community' as 'Calendar of Meetings' and 'CEDAR related opportunities'.
CEDAR email messages are under 'Community' as 'CEDAR email Newsletters'.
All are in 'Quick Links' on the main page.
(1) AGU announces 2013 AGU Fellows and award winners:  Joe Huba and Jim Russell
are AGU Fellows, and Ray Roble is the 2013 William Bowie Medal winner.
 From Barbara Emery (emery at ucar.edu).

The AGU has announced their 2013 award winners.  The full lists can be found at


and many will be honored at the awards ceremony on Wednesday December 11
at the Fall AGU meeting in San Francisco.

62 AGU Fellows were elected this year, including 2 from the CEDAR community:
1) Joe Huba from the Naval Research Laboratory
2) Jim Russell from Hampton University

Congratulations to both Joe and Jim!  Fellowship is bestowed on only 0.1% of
the AGU membership in any given year.

The other award is the AGUs highest honor, the William Bowie medal for
"outstanding contributions to fundamental geophysics and for unselfish
cooperation in research".  The 2013 Bowie medal was awarded to Ray Roble,
emeritus scientist from HAO/NCAR.  Congratulations Ray!  Ray certainly
shows the spirit of helpfulness and friendliness in unselfish cooperative
research" described in the description of the Bowie medal at


Ray says "I never,ever,ever,ever expected anything like this - it was a bolt
out of the blue."  But still well deserved.

Again, congratulations to Joe, Jim and Ray of the CEDAR community on
their AGU honors!


More information about the Cedar_email mailing list