[Grad-postdoc-assn] Call for nominations for the next TLS speaker

Alexandra Jahn ajahn at ucar.edu
Mon Apr 25 12:13:34 MDT 2011

Hi everyone,

it is time to collect nominations for the two next Thompson Lecture 
Series (TLS) speakers for fall 2011 and spring 2012 (see this link for 
details on the TLS: 
http://www.asp.ucar.edu/thompson/thompson_lecture.php ). All of you can 
nominate a distinguished and established scientist that you think would 
be enthusiastic to communicate with postdocs and graduate students. 
However, it would be good if their research focus was different from the 
previous 3-4 TLS speakers.  For a list of previous speakers, see the 
link above.
Nominations can be done though the wiki at
which also explains what is needed for a nomination.

We will collect nominations until May 16th, and will have a meeting to 
discuss and vote on the nominated speakers on May 25th (a Wednesday) 
from 10-12 in the ML cafeteria - please pan to attend this meeting!

In addition, Jasper, Jia, Lulin, and Barbara will end their ASP 
appointment this summer, and Alex's appointment will end in early 2012 - 
so we really need new postdocs on the TLS committee to ensure the 
continuation of the lecture series! It is a great opportunity to 
organize the TLS event and to interact with well-known scientists, a 
good thing to put on your CV, and it does not take a lot of time, so 
please consider joining the committee. All of us currently on the 
committee will be happy to answer any questions you might have, so don't 
hesitiate to contact us (email addresses below). And if you are just 
joining NCAR this summer, please also consider contacting us to join the 
committee and to submit nominations.

And finally, if any of you have feedback on the visit of the last TLS 
speaker, Gavin Schmidt, please email us your feedback so we can take 
these comments into account for the next year (or send comments 
anonymously on paper to the ASP office via black bag service).

We are looking forward to many nominations for the next two TLS speakers.
The TLS committee

Alex (ajahn at ucar.edu)
Jasper (jfkok at ucar.edu)
Jia (jyue at ucar.edu)
Barbara (pirscher at ucar.edu)
Lulin (xuel at ucar.edu)

More information about the Grad-postdoc-assn mailing list