CEDAR email: SCOSTEP’s 15th Quadrennial Solar-Terrestrial Physics Symposium (STP-15), Alibag, India February 21-25, 2022

SHIOKAWA, Kazuo shiokawa at nagoya-u.jp
Fri Sep 20 19:46:25 MDT 2019

From: Kazuo Shiokawa (shiokawa at nagoya-u.jp)

We are happy to announce that the SCOSTEP’s 15th Quadrennial Solar-Terrestrial Physics Symposium (STP-15) will be held at Alibag, India, on February 21-25, 2022.  

The Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP) organizes the Solar-Terrestrial Physics (STP) symposium once every four years. SCOSTEP is engaged in three major activities: long-term scientific programs, capacity building and public outreach. The scientific programs are of interdisciplinary nature involving scientists from around the world. They are designed to advance our understanding of the solar-terrestrial relationship using space- and ground-based observations, cutting-edge models and theory.  Under what ways the Sun affects the Earth and its environment over various time scales is the underlying theme of the scientific programs pursued under SCOSTEP. Having addressed the variability component during the recently concluded Variability of the Sun and its Terrestrial Impact (VarSITI) program, the new program of SCOSTEP, Predictability of the variable Solar-Terrestrial Coupling (PRESTO, 2020-2024, http://www.issibj.ac.cn/Publications/Forum_Reports/201404/W020190620
 592906717714.pdf.), address the predictability component of those phenomena that have impact on the Sun-Earth system as a whole in various time scales. 

The STP-15 will aim to gather eminent scientists from solar, magnetospheric, ionospheric and atmospheric physics communities to discuss and deliberate on the cutting-edge sciences pertaining to STP. STP-15 will address the predictability as a focus area in each of the traditional topics deliberated upon during the earlier STP meetings, namely, the mass and radiation chains and intra-atmospheric coupling. 

Please put the date of STP-15 into your calendar, and prepare to join in with the new SCOSTEP program PRESTO.  

With best regards, 
Kazuo Shiokawa, SCOSTEP President 
Daniel Marsh, SCOSTEP Vice President 
Nat Gopalswamy, SCOSTEP Past President 
Patricia Doherty, SCOSTEP Scientific Secretary
SCOSTEP Bureau members and their liaison organization: Aude Chambodut (WDS), Jorge Chau (URSI) , Kyung-Suk Cho (IAU), Yoshizumi Miyoshi (COSPAR), Renata Lukianova (IAGA), Annika Seppala (SCAR), Prasad Subramanian (IUPAP), and Peter Pilewskie (IAMAS)
S. Gurubaran, LOC chair (Indian Institute of Geomagnetism)

More information about the Cedar_email mailing list