[Grad-postdoc-assn] Follow-up to Mike Henry's presentation

Paula Fisher paulad at ucar.edu
Tue Nov 13 14:20:38 MST 2012

Hi all,

Below is some follow-up to Mike Henry's awesome presentation on Friday.  
Mike mentioned three opportunities available to postdocs to become a 
science leader in Washington.  I have included the links below.  Also 
included is a follow-up by Mike.

        Congressional Visits Days


Alex Jahn participated in Congressional Visits Days.  Her write-up 
appears in the the November 2011 Newsletter:

        AMS Summer Policy Colloquium


Shannon McNeeley wrote an article about her experience at the summer 
policy colloquium here:

        AAAS Science & Tehcnology Policy Fellowship

Deadline is December 5th for the fellowship

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: 	Re: Mike Henry presentation for the post-docs this afternoon
Date: 	Sat, 10 Nov 2012 13:32:29 -0700
From: 	Mike Henry <mhenry at ucar.edu>
To: 	Paula Fisher <paulad at ucar.edu>
CC: 	Scott Rayder <rayder at ucar.edu>

Hi Paula,

I have a quick follow-up & clarification for the post docs.  Would you 
mind sending this information along to them?:

"Hi all,

I wanted to quickly clarify a point from my presentation yesterday. 
  There will be two Ph.D. scientists in Congress as of January 2013.  A 
Ph.D. physicist named Bill Foster was elected to the House on Tuesday in 
a district in Illinois that is home to Argonne National Lab, doubling 
the number of Ph.D. scientists serving in Congress.  The other Ph.D. 
scientist in Congress is Rush Holt from New Jersey, also a physicist. 
  Additionally, there are a number of new and currently serving Senators 
and Congressmen who have undergraduate science degrees, listed in the 
the AAAS election brief below.  On the downside, a number of Republican 
defenders of science lost their elections on Tuesday. You can see the 
that list below.

Bottom line: Scientists are significantly underrepresented in Congress. 
  We need more Ph.D. scientists running our country and defending 
scientific values on the inside of the political process!


> **Congress Loses GOP Science Supporters But Gains Back a Physicist*. *
> The House doubled the number of physicists in that chamber when former 
> Rep. Bill Foster (D) defeated Rep. Judy Biggert (R) in the 11th 
> district of Illinois. Foster who, from 2008 to the start of 2011, 
> represented the district that was home to Fermilab, decided to run 
> against Biggert after district lines were redrawn. Science factored 
> into the race given that part of Argonne National Lab is in the 
> district. Biggert has spent her seven-term congressional career as a 
> member of the House Science, Space and Technology Committee and is 
> co-chair of the Congressional Research & Development Caucus along with 
> Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ), the other PhD physicist in Congress. || 
> Longtime House Science Committee member Roscoe Bartlett (R-MD), who 
> holds a doctorate in physiology, lost his bid for reelection, as did 
> Rep. Robert Dold (R-IL), one of the congressional supporters of the 
> Golden Goose Awards 
> <http://app.aaas-science.org/e/er?s=1906&lid=20474&elq=c3e824610c7d4d7ca01187e68b127cf4>. 
> At press time, the race involving Rep. Brian Bilbray (R-CA), co-chair 
> of the Congressional Biomedical Research Caucus, had not been settled, 
> but the most recent vote count had him trailing by a few hundred 
> votes. Bilbray was recently named a "champion of science" by the 
> Science Coalition 
> <http://app.aaas-science.org/e/er?s=1906&lid=23722&elq=c3e824610c7d4d7ca01187e68b127cf4>. 
> || Rep. Jeff Flake (R) won a tight race for Senate in Arizona against 
> former Surgeon General Richard Carmona. Flake has targeted federal 
> research in his push for cutting government spending. He was one of 
> the architects of an amendment successfully added this year to a House 
> appropriations bill that would have prohibited the National Science 
> Foundation from funding political science research. || Other new 
> members who hold undergraduate science or engineering degrees include 
> Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM) in the Senate, and 
> Tony Cardenas (D-CA), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Ted Yoho (R-FL), Susan W. 
> Brooks (R-IN), Thomas Massie (R-KY), John Delaney (D-MD), Joseph P. 
> Kennedy III (D-MA), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH), and Suzan DelBene (R-WA) in 
> the House.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://mailman.ucar.edu/pipermail/grad-postdoc-assn/attachments/20121113/fee0a1da/attachment.html 

More information about the Grad-postdoc-assn mailing list